SONG OF THE DAY: Patrick Hagenaar – Come Closer

Yeah, I’ve been on the Hagenaar train for a while – going back to his work with Albrecht up through his solo tracks like “You Got Me Glowing (In The Dark).” 2014 is shaping up to be his big year with two brilliant releases on his own Colour Code label (“Tears of Gold” and “Stars”) and remixes for Kylie Minogue, Route 94, Kiesza, and Second City that appeal to both underground and commercial DJs. “Come Closer (Not Too Close)” might be the one that crosses him over. The progressive house track has a euphoric pop feel and effected rave-like vocals repeating “Come Closer” and “Feel For You.” It’s easy to sing along to and perfectly appropriate for making a first move on someone you are dancing near in a big room. All of the big guys are behind this track and with the anthemic keyboard line it could work its way onto commercial radio. If Patrick Hagenaar isn’t already on your “ones to watch” list, here is the exploding beacon to finally get your attention.

Image courtesy of Flashover.

Notable Dance Podcast #069

Kiesza – Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix)
Netsky and Beth Ditto – Running Low (Todd Edwards Remix)
Arthur Baker ft Chromeo & Al-P – No Price (Armand Van Helden)
Etienne Ozborne, Zoltan Kontes & Ronn Carroll – Get On Up
The Young Punx – Supersonic (Speaker Bomb Mix)
Alesso – Tear The Roof Up
D-Wayne & Leon Boiler – Detonate
Dyro & Dannic – Radical
Aylen – Quack Attack
Laidback Luke & Marc Benjamin – We’re Forever (Novero Remix)
Cedric Gervais ft Coco – Through the Night
tyDi ft Dia Frampton – Stay (Hyperbits Remix)
Sigma ft Paloma Faith – Changing

(Picture of Dannic taken at ADE 2014.)

Notable Dance Podcast #050

Annie ft Bjarne Melgaard – Russian Kiss (Original Mix)

Kiesza – Hideaway (Gorgon City Remix)
Paul Sirrell – What Would We Do (Original)
Astronaut – Rain (Calvertron Remix)
Ron van der Beuken ft Demi Thomasson – Fire to the Rain
W&W vs KSHMR – BigFoot vs Megaloon (Hit Noize Bootleg)
Cole Plante with Myon & Shane 54 ft Ruby O Dell – If I Fall (Bit Error Mixshow)
D-Wayne – Africa (Original)
Klaas – Party Like We Are Animals (Original)
Hix – Alarma (Original Mix)
Martin Solveig vs Laidback Luke – Blow (Quintino & MOTi Remix)
DJ Chuckie – Dirty Funkin Beats (Original Mix)
TAI ft Rutedo – Just Smile (Original)
BT, Fractal & JES – Letting Go (LTN Remix)

(Picture with Cole Plante taken at Promo Only Summer Session 2013)

Notable Dance Podcast #050