SONG OF THE DAY: Alex Metric & Jacques Lu Cont ft Malin – “Safe With You”

Easily one of the best records of the year, “Safe With You” is one that might not grab you on first listen. The perfect blend of hard and soft – the song combines aggressive electro beats, cool progressive synths, and gorgeous vocals courtesy of Malin Dahlstrom (from indie act Niki and the Dove). The song is a collaboration of synthpop/electro producers Alex Metric and Jacques LuCont (Stuart Price), and you can definitely tell that it is a true collaboration with elements from both clearly evident. The first time I heard it, my immediate reference was iiO “Rapture” for the way it took a progressive-leaning track and gave it a pop vibe without becoming cheesy in any way. It’s also one of those rare records that grow on you every time, with no burn factor whatsoever. The video is quite brilliant as well, focusing on an iceskating duo superimposed upon itself. The symbolism of being reliant on someone else in order to perform such complex routines requires that you trust and feel safe having your life in their hands. The visual result is as pretty and layered as the song itself. With massive support from DJs across the hoard (Tiesto featured it at Creamfields) and a plethora of remixes (a favorite being by Andi Durrant and Steve More), watch for “Safe With You” to be a massive hit when released commercially later this month.

Image Courtesy of Ministry of Sound.

Notable Dance Podcast #019

Sharam – My Way
Jack & Joy vs Menini & Viani ft Greg Stainer – AAHM All About House Music (Jack and Joy Mix)
The ReLOUD ft Crystal Waters – Say Yeah (Private Extended)
The Blackhats – Ralph and Vicky
Paul Oakenfold ft Azealia Banks – Venus (DJ Bl3nd)
Cash Cash ft Bebe Rexha – Take Me Home
Static Revenger ft Kay – Back Off (Mixshow)
Green Velvet & Nicky Romero vs Illegal Beatz – Flash & Wild (Psycholi Mash)
Da Rave – Big
dBerrie – Decibel
Andreas Rodlund & Matt Hewie ft Jonny Rose – All We Have (Vocal)
Dank – Wonder Child (Dank LIRR)
Project 46 vs Linkin Park – Shadow of the Day
Alex Metric & Jacques Lu Cont ft Malin – Safe With You (Extended)

Notable Dance Podcast #009

Mason – Grotto (Original)
Pet Shop Boys – Axis (Boys Noize)
Dallas Downs – Let it Roll (DD4 Mix)
Albin Myers – Grindhouse
DJ Bl3nd & Smoothies – Rise (Original)
Tomcraft – Like a Roller (Club Mix)
Fedde Le Grand – Rockin N Rollin (Extended)
ReepR – Lazer Burn (Original)
John Dahlback – Nuke (Original)
Zedd ft Bright Lights – Follw You Down (Roger Slato)
DANK ft JACQ – Crystals (Original)
Depeche Mode – Soothe My Soul (Steve Angello vs Jacques Lu Cont)
Max Graham ft Tania Zygar – Diamonds (Max Graham)
Aly and Fila ft Chris Jones – Running Out of Time (Original)