SONG OF THE DAY: Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano ft Miri Ben-Ari – One Life

When I saw Micah the Violinist accompany Sylvia Tosun during her performance at Winter Music Conference, I had a feeling that the violin would be making a comeback in EDM tracks.? Here comes “One Life” by ‘Sexy By Nature’ duo Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano, which starts off as a big room progressive track with some operatic vocals in the background, and then it happens – the buildup and drop to a gorgeous solo violin.? Israeli violinist Miri Ben-Ari is no stranger to clubland, having collaborated with Armin van Buuren on the first track of his Intense album.?? It sounds so beautiful and somber at first but as the backing comes in, the strength and energy builds to the point where the violin is just as powerful as the beats.? “One Life” is one of those tracks that stands out because not only is it strong, it is unlike anything else out there right now.? By the time Ibiza season hits full speed, there is no doubt that a vocal version will surface.? Until then, creative DJs will be rocking this version.? It makes me wonder whatever happened to Vanessa Mae.

Image Courtesy of Doorn/Spinnin.

Notable Dance Podcast #051

Jack Beats – Beatbox (Extended Mix)
Electronic Youth – I Dont Care (Original Mix)
Duke Dumont ft Jax Jones – I Got U (Jonas Rathsman Remix)
Freemasons & Joel Edwards – U Drive Me Crazy (Extended Mix)
Medicinne – Saving (Original Mix)
Armand Van Helden vs. Herve – Power Of Bass! (Original Mix)
StoneBridge & Caroline D’Amore – Global Warning (Original)
Jesse Voorn – Mojo (Original Mix)
Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano ft Ariyan – Circus (Original Mix)
Robbie Rivera, Delayers, Maurizio Gubellini – Here (Original Mix)
Fatboy Slim Presents Gregor Salto ft Saxsymbol & Todorov – Samba Do Mundo (Original Mix)
R3hab & Nervo & Ummet Ozcan – Revolution (Chocolate Puma Remix)
Chromeo – Jealous I Aint With It (Original Mix)

Notable Dance Podcast #031

The Cube Guys and Prok & Fitch – Don’t Go
Prok & Fitch – Freak Show
Daleri – Hysteria (Original)
Nicky Romero, Sunnery James, Ryan Marciano ft Fast Eddie – Jack to the Sound of the Underground
Jeffer – Guitar Mistake
ATB ft Ramona Nerra – Never Give Up (Stefan Dabruck & Tocadisco)
Stanley Progman – Nothing Matters
Buddygirrl & Chris James – One Moment (Original)
Bauer & Lanford – Leave Me Behind (Kryder)
Maison & Dragen ft Toni Nielson – Immortal Love (Original)
Dash Berlin & Alexander Popov ft Jonathan Mendelsohn – Steal You Away (Giuseppe Ottaviani)
Morten – Look Closer (WeSmile)